26 Responses to Open letter to thief who stole my debit card number and robbed $700

  1. flylowguy says:

    Another great reason to use a credit (only)  card.  You are protected in a case like this.
    I think debit cards should be protected against  theft and fraud just like credit cards are.   Why not?

    • Rynski says:

      i will HEARTILY agree with you on all of the above, flylowguy.
      credit cards turn me off since the bill comes later, after i usually forgot i owe the money – and there’s also the interest which gets added when i don’t have the money to pay full bill since i forgot i charged it….
      …but they ARE an AWESOME alternative to scams like this one that left me high, dry and incensed.
       

      • Len Hoglan says:

        “forgot I owe the money -“? “don’t have the money to pay…”?
        C’mon Rynski, if you don’t get your head in the game at least a little bit, be prepared to be ripped off again and again.

    • Neva Williams says:

      My husbands wallet was stolen out of the car, and his debit card was in it.  They charged $800+ in a very short amount of time, and we did call to cancel it right away.  The credit Union did NOT hold us accountable for that $800+.  We were just as protected as if it had been a real credit care – which it was not.

    • Neva Williams says:

      Well, to make it clearer, what I meant was that the money, of coourse came right out of our checking account, but the Credit Union, put the total amount back into our account – all $800+.  We had phoned the C.U. immediatly, called the police … done all that they had expected us to do.  The Credit Union was very good about it.

      • Rynski says:

        thanks for input, neva williams – and happy ending to what could have been a very crummy situation.
        it gives me further faith i, too, will get money reimbursed. thanks!

  2. Gill Bates says:

    If you can pay your mortgage with $700 you are doing better than the rest of us.
    You also, inadvertently I am sure, forgot the part about you only being liable for $50 or less.

    • Rynski says:

      hi gill bates,
      NO WAY does $700 pay mortgage, but every little cent needs to go towards it these days.
      what part about being liable for $50 or less? am i missing something? if yes, please advise.
      i’m sure the bank would be happy to hear from me once again (haha).
       

    • koreyk says:

      The $50.00 limit applies only to credit cards, not debit cards.

  3. Carolyn Classen says:

    Ryn, someone in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico got our credit card # & tried to charge at a Walmart there (twice), but the card company noticed and called us so we stopped that.  Debit cards are problematic as the $ is debited directly out of the bank account, but usually the bank repays you. That happened to my husband once when he got pick pocketed in Hungary.  Consequently, we don’t trust debit cards and do not have any.

    • Rynski says:

      aw, man – that stinks, carolyn.
      so glad the card company blocked the charge – as you mentioned, one of the advantages of credit cards over debit.
      also thanks for bit of hope that bank “usually” repays. i’m jumping on your non-trust of debit card bandwagon, for sure.

  4. andrew farley says:

    I been that route and I felt so violated all for a leather coat, sunglasses and guess what? Toyz r us, over $300 smackaroos in a toy store. So Sorry Ryn but if you need to, come out to the ranch and fire off a 20 round clip of .308’s into a watermelon and get out your aggressions.

    • Rynski says:

      noooo!!! what the heck is with all these toys R us thieves??? geesh. at least mine did seem to buy groceries and medication for his ailing mother – hahaha.
      thanks for sympathy and i’m sorry you, too, had a similar situation.
      thanks! on watermelon shooting offer – i just may take you up on it! (can i bring the dogs?)

      • leftfield says:

         (can i bring the dogs?)

        Don’t shoot the dogs, Ryn.  It’s not their fault. 

      • Rynski says:

        hahhaha! i would NEVER shoot my dogs, lefty (although they seem to want to shoot me when i don’t give them enough treats – hahaha).

  5. karyn says:

    Ryn
    I am so sorry that happened to you.
    Once someone charged $10,000 to Harvard on my credit card.
    As for my debit card, I never take it with me when I travel. Also I never use it to make online purchases. Certainly, that’s no guarantee but some small safeguards. If I can’t see that debit card in my radar at all times, like paying for a meal in a restaurant, then I’ll pay another way.
    What really irks me is that when you go to the doctor and fill out new patient paperwork, everything asks for your SS#. Yeah, like I’m going to write it down so the paperwork can sit in a file. I just write N/A and nobody hassles me.
    I’m glad the bank is working with you.

    • Rynski says:

      hey karyn,
      thanks for sympathy – appreciate it! sorry to hear you had a harvard $10,000 charge – eek! hope you got that one taken off the list.
      also agree docs – and even others – are pretty free about SSNs. pretty scary how much info just lays around, ready for thievery.
      thanks for comment.

  6. Cherlyn Gardner Strong says:

    Wow, Ryn, sorry to read about this. Sending good vibes to you with best wishes of a speedy recovery of your hard earned money.

  7. Oakland says:

    This goes back to the comment I made the other day that we have no respect for one another. Also not a huge priority for the police, witch is sad, I work hard for my money, the last thing I want is to have some one take it away from me. I don’t care if they need it more than I do, I don’t find that there is any reason to forgive an act like that. Sorry to hear of your troubles.

    • Rynski says:

      thanks, oakland.
      no respect is right. i, too, would be hard-pressed to forgive someone for stealing from me, or anyone who works their butt off just to make ends meet. or anyone for that matter – although it always hits harder when it’s people who sweat blood for wages.
       

  8. oldwest2 says:

    Ryn;
    Sorry to hear about your account, lets hope the scum bag gets caught and gets what they deserve. Nothing more low life than a thief,  maybe second behind that would be a bold liar. Hope good vibes head your way soon and this never happens again.

    • Rynski says:

      thanks, oldwest2.
      i’m with you on hoping the thief gets caught – i already have one pal who said she’d happily ride the F train looking for this idjit (sic) in queens. ahhh, the beauty of nyc connections –  hahahhaha.

  9. anonymous_coward says:

    I find it ironic that you readily promote vandalism by posting how-to instructions for taggers but you get upset when someone commits a crime against you.  Is criminal activity only wrong when it personally effects you?  You should research how our country is (or use to be) a COUNTRY OF LAWS not a country of people.  Places like Mexico are the later where laws are arbitrarily applied and results in bad things.

  10. Caroline says:

    I just went through this TODAY!! and for the first time in my life, I really feel like I could strangle someone. My whole paycheck is gone, which was to cover my rent and elec bill. My bestfriend just lost his mom and I really wanted to be there for him. He lives in MA, I’m in TX. I had just enough in my savings account to buy a ticket to fly out there and see him. Because some person decided to going on a shopping spree on my accout, I cannot be there for my friend. I will pray for you thief, and I hope you bought food and diapers at Kroger. If not, I hope you find some salvation soon, because you are definitely headed in the wrong direction.
     

Leave a Reply

