Furloughs and other crummy economic fads

This economic depression that some still insist is not a depression has led to a number of really crummy fads.

The face of the economy/Art and photo Ryn Gargulinski

The face of the economy/Art and photo Ryn Gargulinski

We’ll call them fads since that sounds a lot nicer than “necessary tactics to stay alive.”

We love euphemisms. We can say “laid off” instead of axed, “furlough” instead of “mandated time off with no pay,” and “dearly departed” rather than “dropped dead.”

My furlough kicks off Monday. At least it only lasts a week and I have some other backup fads in place to replace the lost pay.

Yes, I know, I was supposed to prepare and save money for this week, but you know how life likes to throw us car repairs and forgotten bills that are suddenly due last Wednesday.

Furloughs are a trend all over the place, especially within the City of Tucson. My water bill just informed me I better not need any water office employees during their upcoming slate of furlough days.

Another non-depression depression fad is switching careers. This is not necessarily a bad one. Former Tucson Citizen newspaper reporter and current God blogger Renee Schafer-Horton is going into teaching. The classroom is blessed to have her.

Former City Editor Diane Luber added her incredible skills to the staff of the non-profit Interfaith Community Services. An awesome organization for an awesome woman. I can tell by her zealous news releases she’s doing a great job.

Others have left Tucson, or even Arizona, to find work. Some are going back to school. Still others are still searching through the decimated job market.

Odd jobs and freelance work are two more fads. These, too, are not necessarily bad, just none too feasible for putting more than Ramen noodles on the table. Most do not provide health insurance. Dog walkers, weed pullers and house cleaners have cropped up by the dozens.

Selling “gently used” clothes, the long-untouched fondue set that seemed cool at the time and all kinds of other goodies on Craigslist is another way to nab extra cash. This week definitely includes cleaning out my closet.

It used to be folks got a job, lived well. Now many of us need at least two jobs and are just barely making it. In addition to TC.com, my sideline gigs include freelance writing and my art businesses, RYNdustries. I am incredibly grateful for all three.

At least furloughs are better than layoffs. And layoffs are still better than dropping dead.

[tnipoll]
wb-logolil

What do you think?

Have you had to engage in any economic “fads” to stay afloat? What are they?

Is your company participating in furloughs?

What advice do you have for others who may be struggling?

Do you want to buy any “gently used” clothes? Haha.

See you next week.

Please note: I am not allowed to visit the site during my furlough. But please feel free to leave any comments, which I will respond to upon my return.

About Rynski

Writer, artist, performer who specializes in the weird, wacky and sometimes creepy. Learn more at ryngargulinski.com.
This entry was posted in danger, gross stuff, life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Furloughs and other crummy economic fads

  1. radmax says:

    Mornin’ Rynski. Yup, times are tough and I believe we are not through the worst of it yet. Glad you can keep gainfully busy on your mandatory leave.
    Hopefully you will post some of the new art and writings which you undoubtedly will be busy on this week for all of us fans of the Ryngmaster.
    🙂
    PS-“and “dearly departed” rather than “dropped dead.” 🙂

  2. azmouse says:

    I guess compared to many, I am lucky. As a self employed hairstylist, I get paid daily when I work.
    I can’t help but daydream occasionally about my mortgage miraculously getting paid off….then I’d be set! lol

  3. leftfield says:

    It’s a good time for all of us to remember to be grateful for what we do have.  Also a good time to remember the serenity prayer:

    Dog, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    the courage to change the things I can,
    and the wisdom to know the difference.

  4. azmouse says:

    This is completely off topic, but I found it so amusing, I had to share it!

    http://www.kold.com/global/story.asp?s=12181734

    ———

  5. Ferraribubba says:

    Hey Rynski: Ya know, there are advantages to checking in at the corner of Park & Irvington every once and a while, and two can play at this ‘Furlough’ game if you know how to play your cards right. I did.
    No need to use Waste Management every week for big $$$. TNI has these beautiful big dumpsters behind the pressroom that are ready to accept your trash 24-7 (couches included!)
    Like bottled water at home? The exercise room used to have many 5-gallon containers. Just return the empties.
    If this is only your 1st time in the barrel, don’t feel too bad. Other media outlets started this dance macabre 18 months ago. You just joind an exclusive club that includes many past and present journalistic greats.
    Yer pal, Ferrari Bubba

  6. Andrew Ulanowski says:

    Hello all y’all. I figured I should write my name on the wall.
    Andrew wuz here.
    Miss you Ryn-o-rama!
     

Leave a Reply

