An open letter to the person who abandoned a pet hamster in the ditch

Dear Sir, Madam, Child or Otherwise Heartless Being:

Rendition of the abandoned hamster/Ryn Gargulinski

Rendition of the abandoned hamster/Ryn Gargulinski

I met your pet hamster Monday evening while I was walking my dogs through the alleyway near a ditch.

We were incredibly surprised to see a small, defenseless domesticated pet cruelly abandoned in the wild and, although I am not too particularly fond of hamsters, we found this one quite cute.

She was a black and white hooded with sweet dark eyes.

She was also very tame and ambled halfway up to us without any qualms.

We were wondering why you would dump your hamster in the ditch rather than try to find her a suitable new home. The Humane Society of Southern Arizona takes in small animals and hamsters make great classroom or young people pets.

While it was quite thoughtful of you to leave a small mound of colorful foodstuff mixed with peanuts near the edge of the ditch, that meager pile of provisions would not surely not serve as the key to her survival.

In fact, a domesticated hamster is not going to survive at all in the wild. Although Tucson is done with its 100-plus temperatures for the year, you did happen to abandon your hamster on the eve of a massive cold front and storm warning.

Cold, dank rain does not do well for small rodents, which are already prone to respiratory infections.

Coyotes, pack rats and other wildlife may also not look too kindly on your abandoned hamster. After all, she had that soft, clean white coat which would make the ditch’s grungy denizens a little wary, if not jealous.

Starvation would come too, as the colorful foodstuff mixed with peanuts would not last too long and may be eaten by others. And I didn’t note any water bottle attached to the nearby mesquite trees.

But don’t be alarmed.

Although you surely do not care about this hamster, or you would not have heartlessly dumped her in a ditch, please know she is no longer in danger.

As an animal lover, I could not bear to leave the hamster out alone in the cold, and I was planning to go get a shoebox and take her home.

Before I could resume our walk, however, my dog Phoebe suddenly lunged and dragged me halfway down the ditch to get at your hamster.

Rendition of Phoebe's dog chomp/Ryn Gargulinski

Rendition of Phoebe's dog chomp/Ryn Gargulinski

A single dog chomp through the middle murdered your hamster in one fell swoop.

The ditch drag also banged up my knee, which I am currently elevating and putting on ice to alleviate the pain and swelling. I am walking with a cane.

At least your hamster did not die alone.

I covered her with a blanket of scratchy dried leaves once Phoebe obeyed and let your hamster fall from her jaws.

Thus your hamster will no longer suffer.

I hope that makes it easier for you to sleep at night.

Sincerely,

Ryn, Sawyer and Phoebe

[tnipoll]


wb-logolilWhat do you think?

Have you ever had to get rid of a pet? What did you do?

Have you ever saved one that was heartlessly abandoned?

About Rynski

Writer, artist, performer who specializes in the weird, wacky and sometimes creepy. Learn more at ryngargulinski.com.
This entry was posted in danger, death, gross stuff, life, Pets/animals, Stupidity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to An open letter to the person who abandoned a pet hamster in the ditch

  1. radmax says:

    Mornin’ Rynski. SO sorry to hear of your plight! The poor little guy wouldn’t last the night in the des, and you have a big heart to try to save it. I bet this was some small childs pet, and the parent(s) probably made the kid do this as punishment of some sort, or they got tired of taking care of it. Pretty sad. Stay off that leg as much as you can Rynski, hope it is better soon!

    • Rynski says:

      mornin’ radmax –
      yes, it was a very sad evening all around – and a fairly sleepless night with pain shooting out of my knee. when the dogs pull and you’re standing on gravel downhill, you don’t stand a chance of remaining upright. at least i usually fall on my butt, which has more cushioning.
      thanks for well wishes.
      i, too, figured it was an evil parent that was behind this hamster abandonment. in fact, i have a whole story already made up in my head.
      at least the hamster had a very fast trip to heaven, as all pets go to heaven.

  2. Jennatoolz says:

    Hey Ryn!
    Aww!! Seriously! Who would leave a tiny little animal like that out in the wild? That’s just awful. I would feel way too bad, and way too guilty to abandon a pet like that. Especially when we have Phoebe’s on the prowl, ready to strike at any given moment. 😛 

    I know in the past I’ve used Craigslist to find my pets a new home. You have the option of choosing, or “approving”, the new owner as well. That way you know, or hope you know, that your beloved little animal is going to a great home. Craigslist is a great place to find a new pet too, among many other things; I’m a prime example of that! 😀

    • Rynski says:

      hiya jenna,
      yes, i was in shock for a few minutes when i saw that – like not believing someone would do that. i think that’s why phoebe was able to lunge without me having good reaction time as my mind was still trying to figure out what kind of jerk would abandon a small pet like that.
      i thought of you for the craigslist option! since i knew you got dante there. that is a good way to go about it. i’d be inclined to beg friends and relatives. i had to give up a pet rat when i moved from nyc and a pet dog when i moved from new mexico. both went to friends who will love them forever.
       
       

  3. azmouse says:

    What a sad story all the way around!
    It breaks my heart that anyone could do such a thing. I had a beloved pet hamster as a kid (Allison) and she was my baby. I loved her so much and she was the sweetest little thing.
    As horrible as the little guy’s ending was, I can’t imagine if the poor thing would’ve had to stay out in that weather last night. I couldn’t live with myself!

    It’s a funny thing…I also hurt my knee yesterday, the left one. It’s swollen all to heck and kept me up all night. It’s killing me! I was running around the back yard, playing with the dogs and biffed it on the decking around the pool. LOL
    I’m so graceful! I was trying to finish up my Christmas decorating, but it may have to wait another day.

    • Rynski says:

      yes, AZMouse, it was a very depressing incident all around. it’s haunted me all night but there is nothing i could do. at least i kind of gave the poor hamster a proper burial.
      no way would i have let the poor thing stay out in the rain, which is why i was going to get a shoebox. but maybe this is just god’s way of telling me i have enough pets to take care of.
      sorry to hear of your knee injury, too.  it’s my right knee that’s busted up – we could make a limping team! it also kept me up all night. so much for my morning treadmill. yes, i think today is a day for rest and sleep in the cold clammy weather with busted knees.
       

      • azmouse says:

        Well, you can’t blame yourself or Phoebe for what happened. I know your intentions were good, and Phoebe was just doing what came naturally to her, so you just need to let it go and not haunt you anymore.

        The blame lies on whoever put that poor little hamster out there.

      • Rynski says:

        thanks, az. i will shift the blame NOW.

    • Jennatoolz says:

      Wow! All the skinned and banged up knee’s around here today! Am I next?? Lol kidding aside, I hope you and Ryn make a speedy and full recovery! 😀

      • azmouse says:

        Thanks Jenna!
        I’m a gimp! LOL
        See what you have to look forward to in your old age? You get hurt and it takes forever to heal…….

      • Jennatoolz says:

        A gimp! Hahaha! Can’t say I’m lookin’ forward to that, though. And it’s not like you’re sooo old either! Lol 😛

      • Rynski says:

        jenna – banged knees are so passe now – go for a banged up elbow or something instead! haha.
        thanks for speedy recover wishes. staying off the treadmill is killing me! i’m going to try a one-legged stationary bicycle workout.

      • azmouse says:

        Yes, I was actually looking forward to a raining early morning brisk walk with the dogs today…with their stylish jackets on, of course, but there is no way. Hopefully tomorrow.

        I think Jenna should go for the banged-up head. You can wear a cool bandage thing wrapped around your head and you can walk around any store acting completely out of your mind. People will just think it’s a brain injury and forgive you.

      • Rynski says:

        hahhahah! yes, yes! i love the head injury idea.
        jenna – maybe you’ll even get store discounts acting all bandaged and out of your mind just so you’ll leave!

      • Jennatoolz says:

        LOL you girls have my head injury way too planned out. I don’t know if I should be worried about that! 😛

      • azmouse says:

        LOL!
        We DO sound a little sick pre-planning a head injury…..

      • Rynski says:

        hahhahahahahahha!

      • Jennatoolz says:

        I know right! I’m rockin’ the puppy bites right now…Dante seems to think my arm is a chew toy when we start playing, lol.

      • Rynski says:

        oh, that darling dante!
        i FORGOT about the puppy bites – those are some sharp little choppers. wear arm length gloves maybe? i have some fine mint green velvet ones….

  4. Ferrari Bubba says:

    Once we get Obama Health Care, we can just let our ‘End of Life Counselor’ decide what to do woth the hamster.  You know, just like we’ll do with Grandma. Life will be so much more neat and clean then.  —  Yer pal, Ferrari Bubba

  5. Bjay says:

    Wow, if you Google “abandoned hamster” all the stories are sad.  😦  Poor little hamsters.

  6. Jeff says:

    Ryn, Ryn, Ryn, Ryn. Only you could have spotted that little hamster. I am proud of you. Now Sawyer? Well, that’s another issue. Jeff

    • Rynski says:

      jeff!
      how fine to hear from you – thanks for your comments and being proud of me for spotting a hamster. i’m good at spotting a number of different living beings, from hamsters in the ditch to ladybugs in my parsley (yes! i had one at fry’s the other day – what a sign of good luck).
      sawyer says hi and would like to comment back to you in person!
       

Leave a Reply

