TC.com VIDEO debut: Tour of Rynski's wacky backyard

Our backyards can be just another place for the dog to poo – or we can turn it into a heavenly haven.

Pepe/Art and photo by Ryn Gargulinski

Pepe/Art and photo by Ryn Gargulinski

Mine happens to serve both functions, and it was snappily captured on video by the extremely talented Eric Heithaus.

Heithaus doubles as the dad of Mr. Angel, the cutest dog in the world, and also runs HeithausProductions.com. He’s good.

Having a backyard full of art is also wonderful, although it does have a couple of detriments.

One is the folks who think they have carte blanche to peek their nosy noggins above the fence just because they see a skeleton flapping in the wind.

Another is the HOA that gets cranky if any of the colorful stuff is visible enough to mar the overall beige-ness of the neighborhood.

My backyard wonderland was inspired by Valley of the Moon, although the style is quite different. It was also born of necessity, as I had no more room to put art inside the house.

Please enjoy TucsonCitizen.com’s debut video:

[tnivideo caption=”Rynski\’s Wacky Backyard Tour” credit=”Heithaus Productions”]https://rynskiblogski.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/pepe.jpgrynski/files/2009/10/rynyard.flv[/tnivideo]

Please note: Video quality suffers due to the high compression currently necessary to view videos on the site.

[tnipoll]

wb-logolilPlease take the poll and add additional comments below.

Also – I am eventually going to add video regularly to my posts, which means less time for writing. Do you care?

What kind of videos do you enjoy: Stories? Quick snippets? Clandestine shots? Fun stuff set to music? Comedic commentary? Horror?

P.S. You know you’re gonna get animal stuff.

About Rynski

Writer, artist, performer who specializes in the weird, wacky and sometimes creepy. Learn more at ryngargulinski.com.
This entry was posted in art, environment, life, odd pueblo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to TC.com VIDEO debut: Tour of Rynski's wacky backyard

  1. Jennatoolz says:

    I’m saddened because my computer at work will not allow me to see the video. Booo! 😦

    Guess I’ll have to wait until I get home later on…I’m sure your backyard is amazing! Lol 😛

    • Rynski says:

      oh, poo! thanks for trying – Adobe Flashplayer works for these type of files, if that helps at all. otherwise, i look forward to your “review” later!

  2. leftfield says:

    Unfortunately, the website is a little wacky today.  There is no Flashplayer or link to the video that I can find on my screen this morning.  On top of that, if I try to cursor the link for your videographer, the pop-up for Grand Canyon U. opens up and the cursor disappears.  I think the site needs the help of a geek or two this morning.

    • Rynski says:

      how frustrating! thanks, also, for trying.
      i’ll alert the IT team to the problems. mine is working OK in firefox – safari is not letting me view the video but eric’s link works in both browsers.
      well, welcome to the debut!! hahaha…

  3. leftfield says:

    BTW Ryn, I spent most of Sunday past at the Tucson Botanical Gardens photographing butterflies.  While there, I noticed your scarecrow display and it was easily the most eye-catching and novel of all of them.  I like the colors.  Nice work. 

    • Rynski says:

      yaaay! thanks. i’m going to check out the scarecrow display this weekend. glad to have a head’s up on my ‘competition’ – haha.
      how awesome you photoed the butterflies. love that exhibit. hope the humidity did not mar your camera. bet you got some glorious shots.

  4. azmouse says:

    My isn’t happening either……

    • Jennatoolz says:

      Maybe it isn’t just me after all! I was thinking it was my companys web-filter that was keeping it from playing. 😛 Still might be the case though…only time will tell!

  5. Rynski says:

    dangit. i have not heard from a single person where it IS working. I may take it down until glitches are fixed….will repost when it’s working..

  6. A.Farley says:

    HA! Mine works fine and I am the first to see it. I’m placing a custom order for a “beware of bobbed tail cat” or a Voodoo Saloon sign or something for sure. More Videos and thanks for the Lefty filter, Ryn.
    “Tushingham bark” is the Captcha

    • Rynski says:

      dear tushingham bark,
      glad at least ONE person got to see it! and way cool on your custom order – let me know when you decide what you want for sure. both the bobbed tail and voodoo saloon are fun ideas.
      i’ll leave the video up then, for the one out of four that it works for (haha). and hope IT gets back to me anon with answers to the issues folks are
      having.
      are those who cannot see it using safari or firefox? farley – are you on safari or firefox?
      safari seems glitchier – please advise.
       
       
       

      • Jennatoolz says:

        I’m on regular ol’ Internet Explorer. I’d much rather have Firefox (’tis my browser of choice at home) but the big guys at work refuse to upgrade anything. We’re still using Windows 2000…ick.

      • Rynski says:

        well – new update from IT says IE is the culprit:
        “Also, I’ve narrowed down the IE problem to Flowplayer itself.  It is an IE-specific issue involving inline/block elements and innerHTML…”
        I love their messages – they sound so knowledgeable…even tho i don’t know what the heck they are talking about – hahah
        So i look forward to your firefoxing it at home since you don’t want to get in trouble downloading all kinda jazz on a work computer.
         
         
         
         

  7. jester says:

    one would have thought the last place I would choose to settle would be a desert town after spending so much time you know where . but
    you can bring beauty where ever you live . . give me color abstract
    and other . give me motion and life it keeps the mind alive . but I would realy like to see the Vid lol .

  8. A.Farley says:

    Firefox, Baby!
    Easily Albert-is the cp

    • Rynski says:

      thanks, easily albert….
      firefox may be the key – those who don’t have it can download it for FREE.
      Google Firefox and you’ll get a download option…i would paste a link but i’m on a mac at the moment, and it automatically gives me a mac link.

  9. Rynski says:

    UPDATE FROM IT:
     
    Works fine in both Firefox and Safari here.  IE (Internet Explorer) is the problem browser for me with an unhelpful “Runtime error”.  I tried upgrading Flowplayer to see if that would help.  It didn’t.

    I know I tested this thoroughly under IE back when I first pieced video
    together and I know Flowplayer works fine in IE, so something weird is going on.
    xxxx
     
     

  10. koreyk says:

    I like the piece with the glasses and rolling eyeballs.

  11. koreyk says:

    On my computer, like other commenters above, the space where the flash player should be is blank in both IE and Firefox.  However, when I click on the nothingness in either browser, the flash player appears and the vid plays fine.

  12. leftfield says:

    When I click on the blank space above, IE asks me if I want it to search for software online to open the file.  It then says the file type is unknown.

    Question:  if I switch to one of the other browsers mentioned above, would I be able to filter out images of guys with dead muskrats on their upper lip and flowers in their hair?

  13. Mark B. Evans says:

    Ryn, worked for me.
    And clearly, a crazy person lives at your house. Since you don’t have a roomie, that kind of narrows it down.

  14. Marie says:

    I’ve only got IE on my computer and I’m under penalty of death by the IT guys if I even think of downloading something.   Anyway, suddenly, your video clip “appeared” and I’ve been able to view it.    Cool.   Your backyard is very hip.     I’m particularly fond of the ‘beware of goldfish’ sign.   My beta gave it a hearty fins up.   

  15. Rynski says:

    This just in from IT –
    Video codes, etc. all REWORKED so it should now WORK from all browsers, even previously glitchy ones.
    For those of you who had probs, please try again if so inclined.
    thanks, IT!
     
     
     
     

    • Jennatoolz says:

      I can see that I’d have the opportunity to watch the video, however, due to my work computer being seriously outdated, its asking me to a newer version of Flash Player…which I’m unable to download. Still out of luck! 😛

      • Thomas Hruska says:

        Sigh.  Well, there really isn’t a whole lot that can be done about that.  Flowplayer (the specific Flash Video wrapper used to play FLV files) depends on at least Flash Player 9 or higher to be installed.
         
        There are known, exploitable security vulnerabilities in anything older than the absolute latest versions of Flash Player.  Consider upgrading/letting your IT department know about the security issue.  Toss “security vulnerability” at your friends in IT and they usually respond pretty quickly (if you know what you are talking about).

      • Jennatoolz says:

        Sadly, our IT guy fails at responding to ANYTHING. 😛

  16. leftfield says:

    It works now on IE for me and it is, as Martha would say, “a good thing”.

  17. radmax says:

    Haha! Did Eric have any trouble with the terrible twosome? I’ve always said you have a nice backyard Rynski…now it’s captured for all to see!
    Very imaginative and avant garde.
    You’re one of a kind Rynski, I love it!

    • Rynski says:

      thanks, radmax!
      the terrible twosome did NOT like the video camera (as evident in the video) – but they settled down once i promised them we could include a clip with their wagging tails (and they got some treats).

  18. oldwest2 says:

    Okay that makes my back yard look bland, nice work and unique art work.
    I had no problems viewing it, i use Google chrome. So it appears if there was a glitch it is working now.

    • Rynski says:

      i’m sure your backyard is beautiful, oldwest2. thanks for compliments. and if you DO want to add a little artwork to it, you know who to e-mail! haha

  19. azmouse says:

    What a cute video!Your backyard looks so fun. You could sell tickets for people to walk through on Halloween!

    • Rynski says:

      yaaay! glad you finally got to view video – and thanks! i like your tickets idea, too. you’re quite the marketing machine – keep the ideas coming! anyone who wants a tour, please leave $25 on my front porch and i’ll let you know when you can come see the yard in person (haha). if you wish to meet the dogs, please leave $30. if you wish for me to lock the dogs up when you arrive, please leave $55.

  20. oldwest2 says:

    Rynski: Ok i will keep that in mind, thanks.
    I will have to maybe buy a few to fill my back yard of 3 acres.

  21. Jennatoolz says:

    Finally got to view the masterpiece that is Ryn’s Backyard. Very cool!!

    I’ll have a permanent piece of Ryn-art installed on my skin this Friday at 6pm. 😉

  22. Charles Spillar says:

    I found after I cleared my cache on Safari, I was able to watch the crazy video.  The backyard looks great. What planet again are you from?

    • Rynski says:

      hahaha! thanks, charlie.
      i’ve always liked venus for some reason so i would pick that one…but my dogs insist we’re from saturn (they like the rings).

Leave a Reply

