Tattoos in Tucson – slide show and poll

Spiders and snakes weren’t the only thing on display at this past weekend’s Tucson Reptile Show – we also got an eyeful of some terrific tattoos.

We are not sure why many folks who dig reptiles are also into body art, but the two go together as well as a skink with a bowl full of meal worms.

And we’re not talking about a microscopic butterfly tattoo hidden down by an ankle bone. We’re talking big, bold, beautiful artwork that covered arms, legs, stomachs and probably other places the camera didn’t get to see.

Check out what we did get a peek at.

[tnislideshow]

Names and artists are included in some, while others wished to remain anonymous. Or at least as anonymous as you can be with a bold tattoo. All photos by Ryn Gargulinski.

NAME was not at the reptile show, but we simply had to include his tattoo/Ryn Gargulinski

This dude was not snapped at the reptile show, but we had to include his tattoo/Ryn Gargulinski

Take the tattoo poll

[tnipoll]

Please leave additional comments below.

wb-logolil

Which pictured tattoo is your favorite?

What tattoos do you have?

Any theories on why many reptile folks also dig tattoos?

About Rynski

Writer, artist, performer who specializes in the weird, wacky and sometimes creepy. Learn more at ryngargulinski.com.
This entry was posted in art, life, odd pueblo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tattoos in Tucson – slide show and poll

  1. azmouse says:

    I think I had mentioned the people watching at reptile shows is as cool as the critters!

    • Rynski says:

      yes you did! AZMouse – thanks for the reminder to be on the lookout! also thanks for further skink tips you left on lazlo’s post.
      one more thing – DO SEND photos of the hubby’s tats if you find them. those would make an awesome post. in fact…
      EVERYONE send photos of their tattoos – include your own name, artist name and what the tattoo means to you. E-mail rynski@tucsoncitizen.com

  2. azmouse says:

    I love tattoos. I’ll have to see if I have any old pics of the hubby’s tattoos somewhere. He had a whole leg done with geckos and poison dart frogs in the forest. It was cool. He also had some armbands that were different kinds of king snakes.

  3. Jennatoolz says:

    This is just another thing that is urging me to get another tattoo! I love how creative people can be with them! So far, I have 2 tattoos, and I’m aching to get a couple more!
    Also, funny tattoo of the smiley face on the top of the guys head. I notice from the background of that picture that he’s at a Moon Smoke Shop…my boyfriend happens to work at one of them, lol!  ^.^

    • Rynski says:

      go for it, jennatoolz! i’ve held steady at eight for some time, but am working on designing number nine…
      good eye on the Moon Smoke Shop – which one does your boyfriend work at? is he the guy pictured in the background? The guy in the background is the one who told me how to get rid of the bee stinger with mud.

      • Jennatoolz says:

        My boyfriend works at the one on Broadway/Kolb. He’s been with that company for yearsss! He’s even given me some of those cool Moon t-shirts, haha.
        I’ll send you an email with my tattoo’s soon! =D

      • Rynski says:

        yaay! look forward to the tat pix – make sure you wear a Moon t-shirt in the photo (haha)

      • Rynski says:

        got the photos – awesome!! those are great!
        i’ll try to collect more tattoo photos – tell your friends! – and then post them all at once. thanks!

      • Jennatoolz says:

        I’ll try to remember to send over some pics of my boyfriends tattoo’s later on today…with his approval of course. =)

        ***My captcha says “The yearn” Maybe it’s describing how I feel about getting another tattoo! =P

  4. leftfield says:

    I like tattoos and have several, although Mrs. Leftfield insists that they all be below the knees. 

    I have noticed that people who don’t have tattoos generally are very judgemental about people who do, whereas people with tattoos don’t seem to be judgemental about those without ink.

  5. Lionel says:

    When I was a sailor boy in the British Royal Navy, I had two tatoos done – one on each forearm. Have regretted them since leaving the service.
    Thought they would make me a better sailor.
    Stupid idea!
    However, onboard my first seagoing ship there was a shipmate who had many tatoos, one of which was a foxhunt on his back, with the fox going to ground – only the tail visible…… think about it!

  6. radmax says:

    Afternoon Rynski! I love tatoos-as long as they are not on me…I’ve seen some really cool dragons on a lady friend of mine. PS-I always wonder what the poor putzs do with them when their ‘true-love’ splits with the Schwanns guy or girl.

Leave a Reply

