20 Responses to Duped by a couple of hounds – Don't believe everything you're e-mailed

  1. radmax says:

    Mornin’ Rynski! I would have fallen for these two pooches easily! What a pair. 6.5 mil and a trip to Hong Kong! Wing Wang must be a very benevolent soul. Kinda surprising he could not find anybody in China to take him up on his generous offer…

    • Rynski says:

      hahah! Mornin’ Radmax! I wanted those dogs myself…but sawyer and phoebe would have had way too much to say about that! yes, it’s weird wong tang didn’t find any hong kong folks to take him up on his amazing offer – but is very kind of him to extend it to those of us in the U.S.
      my favorite urban legend is THE HOOK although I also like BLOODY MARY (but i heard the movie sucks).
      What’s your fave urban legend?

      • radmax says:

        Hands down…Bloody Mary! Although I have heard this flick sucks…

      • Rynski says:

        didn’t you also once post something about liking the La Llorona myth?

      • radmax says:

        El chicharones…very tasty…oh you’re talking about the cryin’ senora who drown her kids or something? Nah, never heard of that one, but I can tell you 1st hand this  movie sucks out loud. 🙂

      • azmouse says:

        Chupacobra…is that how you spell it?
        Big Foot is an all time fave urban legend of mine. I went through a faze of only dating men who resembled the legendary Big Foot photo in hopes of finding the real one.

      • Rynski says:

        hahahhahahhahahhahaha!!! did you ever find him?
        i’ve always found big foot kinda creepy, i lived in oregon/northern california for a spell and he was spotted up there about every other day.
         

      • azmouse says:

        I think I found a few!  😉

  2. azmouse says:

    Good one!
    I didn’t know the cookie story was crap, though… and I always get those emails from the foreign sounding person, looking to share his good fortune, as long as I hook him up with my bank account number!

    I got duped along time ago, where a guy is getting his picture taken under water, and in the murky depths you can see the biggest shark in the world behind him. That one played on my fear of sharks and I totally believed the guy was devoured after the picture.
    You’d think the fact the shark was smiling would have clued me in it was a fake, but I figured sharks smile when they get to eat a tasty human.

    • Rynski says:

      the shark is a good one, too! esp. fear of sharks is one of my top main fears of all time. poor man! about to be devoured! i think sharks DO smile when they get to eat humans – and volkswagon bugs.

  3. Paul says:

    Woo hoo, I got a mention in one of Ryn’s articles – thanks!  Don’t feel bad, I and counless others have also fallen for the story about the doggies’ plight.  I was seriouslyconsidering the possibility of adopting them because I won’t be seeing my own dogs much more in the future due to divorce.

    • Rynski says:

      thank YOU!, paul, for doing the research and pointing out the true story behind the hounds.
      sorry to hear about a pending divorce. poop.
      i know you are not near tucson, but there are some FOR REAL dogs up for adoption here. a woman i know always fosters a lot of dogs and she has some cuties, as usual, looking for homes. let me know if you want her contact info, etc.
       

  4. Jennatoolz says:

    I, too, have had an experience with someone trying to scam me. I had posted a laptop on Ebay with hopes of selling it for a couple hundred, as I was pressed for cash at the time. Well, in the last few minutes of the auctions ending, somehow the bids went from about $185.00 to over $5,000.00!! I remember feeling very confused, and I still don’t understand how exactly that happened. Shortly after the auctions end, I received an email from the “winner” asking me to send the laptop to him in Africa. I replied by saying that I would not send anything until payment was received. He then responded with a story of how this laptop was for his daughter who is just starting school and he needed the laptop ASAP. So, again, I responded to him saying that if he wanted the laptop ASAP, then he would first have to send the money ASAP. I never heard from him again, and what makes this even more weird is that when I looked back into my Ebay account, the whole auction had disappeared. It was like it had never even happened! It still boggles my mind, to this day! I know I’m not crazy, because I had my best friend with me at the time, and he saw it too, haha. That was the first and last time I ever tried to sell anything on Ebay.

    • Rynski says:

      good for you, jennatoolz, on asking for the cash before the delivery. i’ve had good experiences buying stuff on ebay – tattoo machines, cowhide handbag, etc. – but not selling on ebay, either.
      also remember another ebay story about a kid buying his first car – that he only found out didn’t exist after he and his father excitedly wired the money to the alleged car owner.
      since the internet makes it so hard to track anyone down, the kid and his dad never got any retribution. nor were the perps ever caught.

    • azmouse says:

      Yeah, not a fan of ebay myself. To many good scammers out there.

  5. Marie says:

    Mmm.   The Neiman Marcus cookie story is as old as time.   I collect cookbooks and different forms of the story have made it into a couple of small press cookbooks, one dating to the late 80s.   It is a yummy recipe and I’ve made the cookies several times.    

    • Rynski says:

      glad you’re helping that poor woman get her $250 worth (haha). last week was the first time I ran across the neiman marcus cookie story. glad it’s a good recipe. now i just have to get my hands on the one for Velvet Cake…

    • azmouse says:

      That one fooled me, and I still haven’t tried one of those cookies.

  6. Mitch says:

    Mornin’ Ryn,
    The biggest scam I’ve ever fell for was Holly. She said “’til death do us part…” and something about “forever”..
    And I fell for it! And yes, it was quite expensive.  🙂
     

Leave a Reply

